

Teignbridge District Council Annual Council 21 May 2024 Part i

# Committee Appointments and Political Balance – Local Government and Housing Act 1989

Purpose of Report

To appoint councillors with effect from 21 May 2024

## Recommendation(s)

The Council is recommended to resolve to appoint councillors to the committees and positions set out in the report and circulated.

## **Financial Implications**

There are no financial implications arising from this report. Head of Corporate Services and Chief Finance Officer martin.flitcroft@teignbridge.gov.uk

## **Legal Implications**

The purpose of this report is to comply with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, which requires the allocation of seats on committees in accordance with the level of representation of political groups on the Council as a whole.

Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 places a duty on the Council to review the representation of political groups on its committees where the members of the Council are split into different political groups. A council is deemed to be split into different political groups where there is at least one such group on the Council. There is a particular duty to conduct this review at the Annual General Meeting or as soon as practicable after that.

For political balance, a group is required to have at least two members in order to be formally constituted as a political group.

Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 sets out how committees must be constituted when the Council is divided into one or more political groups. The Council must give effect, as far as reasonably practicable, to the following four principles in constituting its committees or sub-committees:

(a) that not all of the seats on any committee are allocated to the same political group;

(b) that if a political group has a majority on the Council, it must have a majority of seats on all committees;



(c) that, subject to (a) and (b) above, the number of seats allocated to a political group across all the committees must reflect their proportion of the authority's membership; and

(d) that, subject to (a) to (c) above, the number of seats allocated to a political group on each committee is as far as possible in proportion to the group's membership of the authority.

The Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 (as amended) make provision for securing the political balance on councils and their committees and for determining the voting rights of members of certain committees

Once the allocations have been agreed, the appointment of individual members must be given effect in accordance with the wishes of the relevant Group as expressed through the Group's Leader / Deputy Leader.

Paul Woodhead Head of Legal Services and Monitoring Officer Email: @teignbridge.gov.uk

#### **Risk Assessment**

Failure to allocate seats in line with the statutory principles set out in the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 would be in breach of statutory requirements and may result in error or legal challenge.

Democratic Services Team Leader & Deputy Monitoring Officer sarah.selway@teignbridge.gov.uk

#### **Environmental/ Climate Change Implications**

There are no Environmental/Climate Change Implications arising out of this report. Democratic Services Team Leader & Deputy Monitoring Officer sarah.selway@teignbridge.gov.uk

## **Report Author**

Democratic Services Team Leader & Deputy Monitoring Officer sarah.selway@teignbridge.gov.uk

#### **Appendices/Background Papers**

Local Government (Committees and Political Groups\_ Regulations 1990 Local Government and Housing Act 1990



#### 1. Introduction

The membership of the political groups on the Council is as follows:-.

Liberal Democrat Group	26 Seats
South Devon Alliance Group	10 Seats
Conservative Group	9 Seats
Independent No Group	1 Seat
Independent No Group	1 Seat
Total Seats	47

The various groups comprise the following Members:

Liberal Democrat Councillors (26)
Buscombe
Cox
Dawson
Farrand-Rogers
Foden
Goodman-Bradbury
Hayes
Henderson
Hook
Jackman
James
Jeffries
Keeling
Major
Morgan
Nutley
Nuttall
Palethorpe
C Parker
Parrott
Rollason
Sanders
Swain
Taylor
Williams
Wrigley



South Devon Alliance Councillors (10)
Bradford
Daws
Gearon
Hall
Mullone
P Parker
Radford
Ryan
Taylor
MacGregor
Conservative Councillors (9)
Atkins
Bullivant
Lake
Peart
Purser
Rogers
Smith
Thorne
Webster
Independent Councillors – no Group
Clarance
Steemson

### 2. Committees

## **2.1** The committees which are subject to political balance requirements currently comprise:

Committee	No. of Members on the committee
Overview & Scrutiny Committee	20
Planning Committee	17
Licensing Committee	11
Audit Scrutiny Committee	8
Standards Committee	6
Strata Scrutiny	3



Name of body other than ordinary committee	No. of Members on the committee
Procedures Committee	Membership: (a) The Chair of Council (who will Chair the Committee); (b) All Group Leaders; (c) Two additional members from each Group (who are appointed at Annual Council) provided that the Group comprises 10% or more of the Council full membership
Devon County Council Highways & Traffic Orders	3 to be determined

**2.2** The committees which are <u>not</u> subject to political balance requirements:

#### 3. Allocations of seats and nominations

3.1 Allocations to committees subject to political balance requirements will be:-

Committee	Total Seats	Lib Dems	SDA	Cons	Ind	Ind
Overview & Scrutiny	20	12	4	4	0	0
Planning	17	10	4	3	0	0
Licensing & Regulatory	11	7	2	2	0	0
Audit Scrutiny Committee	8	4	2	2	0	0
Standards	6	4	1	1	0	0
Strata Scrutiny	3	1	1	1	0	0
Total	65	38	14	13	0	0

**3.2** Each political group was asked to provide its allocations for the committees. The nominations will be circulated prior to the meeting.